Childhood of Buddha: The childhood name of Lord Buddha was Siddhartha. He was the son of Suddhodan. He was born in 563 B. C. at Lumbani. His mother Mahamaya died just after seven days. An introvert by nature Siddhartha remained absorbed in philosophical and spiritual from childhood days. It caused concern to his father who married him Yashodhara. The son Rahul was born of this marriage. But neither the beautiful wife, nor paternal love towards son could tie Siddhartha to family life and invariably officers. In search of permanent remedy to sorrows of life and spiritual solves Siddhartha became Ascetic.

One day when he was meditating. Under a people tree on the bank of river Niranjana at Gaya, he came across the derived truth. It took seven years after Mahabhiniskramana (leaving of hour) to week a final discovery.

After getting Buddhatva Gautam Buddha reached Varanasi and net there the very five Lanyaris who had denoted and left him.buddhism

The event is known as Dharma Chakra Pravartan. The place of this historic event was Sarnath.

Gautam Buddha died at the age of 80 at Kushinara (U. P.) in 483 B. C.

Four Noble Truths of Buddhism:

  1. The world is full of sorrows
  2. Desire is the cause of sorrows.
  3. If desires are conquered all sorrows can be remained.
  4. Desire can be renewed by following the eight fold path.

The Dhamma: The essence of Buddhism lies in the four Noble Truths (Sanketas) i.e. suffering; its cause; its cessation and the path leading to the cessation of suffering.

Also Read:   Christian Missionaries in British India

A life addicted to pleasure which is vulgur and worthless and a life given to self-mortification which is painful and equally profitless”.

Buddhism 8 Fold Path Review: The way to Nirvana (emancipation), in Buddhism, of the path that leads to cessation of suffering, higher wisdom and peace of mind, is known as the Noble Eight Fold Path or the Middle Path (Ariya- atthangikamagga). This path is:

  1. Right Understanding: free from superstition and delusion (samma-ditthi).
  2. Right Thoughts: high and worthy of the intelligent earnest man (sammasankappa).
  3. Right Speech: kind, open, truthful (sammavaka).
  4. Right Action: peaceful, honest, pure (samma-kammanta).
  5. Right Livelihood: bringing hurt or danger to no living thing (sammaajiva).
  6. Right Effort: in self-training and in self- control (samma-vayamma).
  7. Right Mindfulness: the active, watchful mind (samma-sati).
  8. Right Concentration: earnest thought on the deep mysteries of life (samma-samadhi).

Five heart events of Buddha’s life and their symbols

  1. Birth – Lotus and Bull
  2. Great Renunciation – Horse
  3. Nirvana – Bodhitree
  4. First Serman – Wheel
  5. Parimirvana Death – Stupa.
Total Views: 5511 ,

Leave a Reply